Pumpkin Chocolate Squares

2013-11-13 08.43.36 (1)

I made this last night in like 25 minutes. That includes the prep and baking. And it’s tastiness was extremely unexpected because it was such a half assed attempt to use up my leftover pumpkin. I’m so excited that I couldn’t wait to share and took a picture of it on plastic wrap next to my office phone…

Bad food blogging decisions aside it’s probably the tastiest baked good I’ve made this year. It’s a cross between a bread and a blondie and its suuuuuper moist. And there’s chocolate.

I KNOW – I have to make a vegetable soon. My pants will also thank me. But for now make this coz dayamn.

1/2 cup flour (any kind)
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
Pinch of nutmeg (I bought the actual nutmeg fruit and grated it. It smells bananas good almost so that its kinda gross)
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

1 egg
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup canned pumpkin (or cooked, pureed pumpkin)
2 tablespoons milk (any kind)
2 tablespoons coconut oil (other oil can be used)
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
¼ heaped cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 180C/350F.

In one bowl combine flour, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In another bowl whisk together the egg, sugar, pumpkin, milk, oil, and vanilla until smooth.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet and stir until well combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Spread the mixture into a greased 9×5 inch loaf pan. Bake for 15-18 minutes.

**Adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie and Handle the Heat.

One thought on “Pumpkin Chocolate Squares”

Leave a comment