Chicken Tikka! (Kind of)

chicken tikka
My Mom refers to this as her chicken tandoori recipe – I made it for friends during a recent boardgame night and it was deemed chicken tikka.

Whatever it actually is is irrelevant because it’s yummy, tastes like home (well my home at least) and is fairly easy to make. So easy that I make it practically every week and eat it for two nights in a row. What can I say, it’s easy to scale down for smaller portions and I’m unimaginative like that.

You want to be like me too and do this. Don’t lie.

2 chicken thighs (boneless and cut)/ 10 chicken wings (cut into two – wing and drummet separated)
2 Tbsps ginger-garlic paste
1 1/2 Tbsps chili powder
1 Tbsp cumin/jeera powder
1/2 Tbsp garam masala
1 1/2 tsps salt
1/2 cup lime juice
4 Tbsps yogurt
1 Tbsp vegetable oil

Clean the chicken and place in a bowl. Mix all ingredients in with the chicken until evenly distributed.

Place in a container and let it marinate for 3 hours/overnight in the refrigerator.

When you’re ready to cook it, prep by taking the grill bit out of your oven, you can cover it with foil and slit it so that the marinade juices can run through and your chicken doesn’t DROWN in it’s juices and become a soggy mess.

I suggest you put some foil on the tray at the bottom of the oven so that your oven doesn’t become a masala mess.

After that preheat your oven to 180C/350F.

Put the chicken on the grill in the oven for 30 minutes, after 30 minutes flip it and bake for another 10.

Serve!

*You should check if it’s done by cutting into it. I’m not really clear on baking times to be honest.
** This is a Diniblini’s Mom’s TM Recipe 🙂

One thought on “Chicken Tikka! (Kind of)”

Leave a comment