Easy Vegetarian Lasagna

I have to say I’m feeling good. You know why? Coz I made lasagna. And not only that I did it without my usual OCD way of following a recipe so closely that I have a breakdown anytime something doesn’t go exactly, according to plan.

Veggie Lasagna

I have been jonesing for lasagna for awhile but was also feeling like I didn’t want to eat dairy OR meat (no idea why – I call it “temporary veganism”) so when I came across this dairy free pasta recipe at the Minimalist Baker I was like hells yes. But then I couldn’t find the oversized shells the recipe called for and that’s how the idea of a lasagna version of this pasta was born. It’s also why I was forced to actually change a recipe. *Breathe in*

8 sheets of no precooking lasagna sheets (I used Barilla but I bought them before I found out about certain homophobic comments their CEO recently made – so I helpfully suggest you choose another brand)
1 1/2 block of tau kwa/tofu
2 Tbsp basil based pesto
2 pearl eggplants cut into 1/4 inch rounds
olive oil
2 cups of spaghetti sauce (I bought Prego Traditional Spaghetti Sauce)

Sprinkle eggplant rounds with sea salt and rub with olive oil. Bake in the oven at 180 degrees Celcius for 20 minutes (turn over after 10 minutes) until brown on both sides. Set aside.

Combine the tofu and pesto in a food processor and pulse until crumbly. In this recipe the tofu acts as the cheese.

Using an 8 by 8 inch pan, generously ladle like half a cup of spaghetti sauce on the bottom. Put two sheets of lasagna on top – then top with a layer of the tofu/pesto mixture and then top with some eggplant. I suggest using about a third of the mixture and eggplants since that’s the number of layers you’re gonna do.

Ladle some of the spaghetti sauce on top of the topping. I have no idea exactly how much BECAUSE I DIDN’T MEASURE. So use your judgment and be generous since these no pre-cook lasagna sheets need a decent amount of liquid.

Repeat with the lasagna sheets – tofu/pesto mixture – eggplant until done. After putting on the two sheets on top with spaghetti sauce and not the mixture and eggplant because you should have finished it by now.

Bake in the oven at 180 degrees Celcius for 35 minutes. Remove from the oven and let cool for 10 minutes before eating.

*This lasagna isn’t SUPER tasty since it’s a little bland. But it hits the spot and it’s somewhat healthy. And it’s vegetarian! YAAY!

Leave a comment