One Mug Hot Chocolate

No, I'm not Melissa.
No, I’m not Melissa.

I know it’s crazy hot outside.

I know that we are all on the verge of melting – Wicked Witch style – into a puddle because of the craziness that is global warming.

But really – who do we have to blame but ourselves in this situation?

I mean if we just stopped consuming so freaking much and reused things and generally didn’t leech the earth of its resources and rode planes around everywhere and bred all these COWS we might be ok today. But instead we have started the end of the world as evidenced by that glacier that’s melting and making land scarce and anarchy inevitable.

No? NO?!

Ok right, this is a food blog.

So let’s make some hot chocolate. Because it’s great to drink when you’re tired and when it’s hot outside but you’re in a cool air-conditioned room – which of course will only speed up global warming.

Drink up!

1 cup milk
2 tsps cocoa powder, unsweetened
1 Tbsp white sugar
¼ tsp vanilla extract
Pinch of salt
Pinch of cinnamon, optional

Heat up milk in a saucepan till hot over a medium flame. Make sure it doesn’t burn by stirring frequently. You will know it’s done when it hisses as it climbs up the sides of the saucepan.

While the milk is heating up, combine the rest of the ingredients in the mug.

Pour the hot milk over the other ingredients and stir quickly, with a spoon/fork, till fully mixed.

Enjoy!

* This version isn’t as sweet as the others I’ve found which call for 2 Tbsps. I mean, that’s just unnecessary.
** I made this last night after a long bus journey and it really did the trick to both satisfy my hunger at 1am and also make me feel comforted 🙂

Leave a comment